Don / Donate / Donación
News

An ango at Toshoji – Sebastian Volz

An ango at Toshoji – Sebastian Volz

An Ango at Toshoji

Sebastian Volz’s Experience

Three months of monastic life can be summed up in a single day. Waking up to the drum, the day gets started with a long zazen, followed by a ceremony, Oryoki,  housekeeping, tea, Samu, lunch, siesta, another Samu, another tea, a rest, dinner, bath and zazen before bed.

Of course the tasks and the responsibilities vary, the seasons and the sangha change, new events and ceremonies punctuate the months. But every day, by the   rhythm and the actions performed together, our attention is held from rising to bedtime, the thoughts calmed by the fluidity of the day, where no choices need to be made. From day to day the invisible purity of our daliy life silently transforms our body and mind.

Our ‘person’ rebels, negative thoughts spring up – boredom, complaints, tiredness, criticism of others, and of the ‘system’, the body sometimes finds it hard to adapt to practice, voices are raised from time to time, conflicts can arise. But more often than not, these negativities are carried away by the continual and powerful flow of the rhythm of the days.

I arrived in the last part of the spring Ango and I stayed through the summer to complete the official period of three months. The Ango period is intense, with  the presence of 20 participants in the Ango as well as occasional visitors. At the end of the Ango, the rhythm relaxes, although the activities remain the same.

The months of July and August are hot and humid, as well as being the season of typhoons. This year, the typhoon was exceptional, the river burst its banks, and there we were with our shovels and wheel barrows, off to dig out an affiliated temple.

The month of August also holds the big event of Obon, ceremonies for the dead. Jean Marc Genzo(Kukan) and myself were able to help in the organisation and attend  many ceremonies in the temples.We also went round from house to house, in the middle of rice fields and mountains, or in the deepest valleys, to chant Daishu (Daihi Shin Dharani) and Kanromon before the  ancestral altars.

Three months – I had never spent such a time cut off from my everyday life. Once I got back, the welcome varied between curiosity and surprise at my slimmed down body, with its clear, smiling face. By repetition, these three months can finally be summed up in a single day, and that day has evaporated in the course of  continued attention.

All that remain are a few dreams, with the bright colours of reality, and life in Tokyo continues as if virtually nothing has changed.

Don / Donate / Donación
News

Un ango à Tosho-ji – Sebastian Volz

Un ango à Tosho-ji – Sebastian Volz

Un ango à Tosho-ji

Le retour d’expérience de Sebastian Voltz

Trois mois de vie monastique se résument à une seule journée. Réveillé au tambour, un long zazen démarre la journée, suivi d’une cérémonie, des Oryokis, du ménage, du thé, du Samu,du   déjeuner, de la sieste, d’un autre Samu, d’un autre thé, d’un repos, du dîner, du bain et d’un zazen avant de se coucher.

Bien sûr, les tâches et les responsabilités varient, les saisons et la sangha se  transforment, de nouveaux évènements et cérémonies ponctuent les mois. Mais chaque jour, par le rythme et les actions faites ensemble, notre attention se maintient du lever au coucher, le mental calmé par la fluidité d’une journée où il n’y a plus à choisir. De jour en jour, la pureté invisible de notre vie quotidienne transforme silencieusement notre corps et notre esprit.

Nos « personnes » se rebellent, des pensées négatives jaillissent – ennui, plaintes, lassitude, critiques des autres et du « système » -, le corps s’accommode parfois avec difficulté à la pratique, les voix montent de temps en temps, un conflit peut surgir. Le plus souvent, ces maux sont emportés par le flot continu et puissant du rythme des journées.

Je suis arrivé dans le dernier tiers de  l’Ango de printemps puis suis resté pendant l’été pour compléter la période officielle des trois mois. La période de l’Ango est intense, avec la présence d’une vingtaine d’Angoshas ainsi que celle des visiteurs occasionnels. A l’issue de l’Ango, le rythme se détend quoique les activités restent identiques. Arrivent alors les mois de Juillet et d’Août avec la chaleur humide et les typhons. Typhon  exceptionnel cette année, le fleuve déborde et nous voilà avec pelle et brouette à déblayer un temple affilié.

Le mois d’Août est aussi le grand moment d’Obon, les cérémonies pour les esprits défunts. Jean-Marc Genzo et moi-même avons pu ainsi aider à l’organisation et assister à plusieurs cérémonies dans les temples. Nous avons circulé aussi de maison en maison, au milieu des rizières en pleine montagne ou bien dans le fond des vallées, pour chanter le Daishu et le Kanromon face à l’autel des ancêtres.

Trois mois, jamais je n’avais « coupé » aussi longtemps de la vie mondaine. Une fois rentré, les accueils varient entre la curiosité et la surprise face au corps aminci, au visage au sourire clair. Par la répétition, ces trois mois se résument finalement à une seule journée, et cette journée s’est évanouie dans le fil de l’attention continue. Il ne reste maintenant que quelques rêves, aux couleurs vives de la réalité, et la vie à Tokyo continue comme si presque rien n’avait changé.