Don / Donate / Donación
News

An Ango at Toshoji – Jean-Marc Delom

An Ango at Toshoji – Jean-Marc Delom

An Ango at Toshoji

Jean-Marc Delom’s Experience

The heat was suffocating when I began this Ango to live what appeared to me to be an experience. In my little room tucked away from everyone, I  reminded myself of the reasons that had brought me to this temple. A mixture of anguish, doubt, but also pride that I had managed to overcome my fear of  the unknown. I felt I was absolutely in the right place for me. I had left my family, work, habits and comfort for three months, and this had produced in those around me a mixture of incomprehension and questioning. For my part, I just followed one thing … my intuition.

I came out of the period of isolation ( Tankario) quickly and after an entry ceremony into the sodo ( the meditation room) being presented to the Roshi and the Tokudo (monks and nuns) the daily activities were soon put in place. Get up at 4 am zazen, ceremony, samu, tea and teaching, samu, ceremony, meal,  rest, samu, rest, ceremony, meal, shower, zazen and bed at 9pm. Continuous practice was established, time had no hold over us, the days were punctuated only by the sounds in the monastery. I had the impression that I had been there for months and others felt the same.

We lived together in a restricted space. We slept in the sodo, but denuded of everything, where nothing truly belonged to us, just a suitcase and the things  we needed to practise. I had an impression of just having the essentials, but everything too. A simple coffee and a bit of cake created a subtle and total inner happiness. In this space, we also met our egos, seeing ourselves in the mirror of the scrutiny of others. The intense rhythm of the days and exhaustion worsened frictions and tensions… But the continuous practice would re-establish itself and everything would become smooth, fluid and gentle.

This Ango also allowed me to create strong links with Sebastian Mokusen and to get to know him better. Our common activities, ceremonies, long  discussions, little strolls before evening zazen, were also moments of sharing and exchanging views. An Ango is a time where we can go deeply into the  functioning and construction of ‘me’ via this ‘other’ by the observation of differences, similarities and all that is deeply human : consciousness, emotions, words that create meaning and creative intelligence as the means of transformation and change.

The ceremonies of obon were not only the chance to go out and meet the local people and understand the meaning of the ceremonies, but also the chance to live in the present moment in its simplicity and authenticity. Without much rehearsal , we learnt to do them by observation and simple continued  attention.

Mistakes were unimportant, the only thing that mattered was the harmony between us. Living an Ango goes well beyond living an experience. After Sebastian Mokusen left, I experienced ‘silence’ as there was a sesshin and also because I couldn’t communicate very well in English. This meeting made me gradually realise ‘bodily’ rather than ‘mentally’, the illusion of my previous knowledge and things that I was sure of for a brief time. In this solitude and seeing the reflection of things, life appeared to be just in the present moment.

When I arrived at Toshoji, I felt I had lived there before. The day I left, I felt as if I had lived there for ever.

Three months can be summed up in an instant.

An instant of silence in that ‘peaceful abode.’

Don / Donate / Donación
News

Un ango à Tosho-ji – Jean-Marc Delom

Un ango à Tosho-ji – Jean-Marc Delom

Un ango à Tosho-ji

Le retour d’expérience de Jean-Marc Delom

C’est par une chaleur étouffante que j’ai commencé cet Ango pour vivre ce qui m’apparaissait être une expérience. Dans la petite pièce à l’écart de tous je me remémorais les raisons qui m’avaient  amené dans ce temple. Un mélange d’angoisse, de doute, mais aussi de fierté d’avoir dépassé mes peurs de l’inconnu. Le sentiment d’être à ma place m’envahissait. Quitter sa famille, son travail,  ses habitudes, son confort pour trois mois, avait provoqué dans mon entourage un mélange d’incompréhension et de questionnement. Quant à moi je ne suivais qu’une seule chose … mon  intuition !

Je suis sorti rapidement du Tankario (période d’isolement), et après une cérémonie d’entrée dans le sodo (salle de méditation), de présentation au Roshi et aux Tokudo (moines et nonnes), les  activités journalières se sont vite mises en place : lever 4h, zazen, cérémonie, samu, thé et enseignement, samu, cérémonie, repas, repos, samu, repos, cérémonie, repas, douche, zazen, coucher 21h. La pratique continue s’installait, le temps n’avait plus d’emprise, seuls les sons dans le monastère rythmaient les journées. L’impression que j’étais là depuis des mois était présente en moi comme chez les autres.

Nous vivions ensemble dans un espace restreint. Nous dormions dans le sodo mais dans ce dépouillement total ou rien ne nous appartenait vraiment, sauf une valise et nos affaires de pratique ; j’avais l’impression d’avoir l’essentiel et tout à la fois. Un simple café accompagné d’un gâteau créait en moi un bonheur subtil et total. Cet espace était aussi un lieu de rencontre de nos egos, de se voir dans le miroir du regard des autres. Le rythme intense des journées, la fatigue exacerbaient les frictions, les tensions… Mais la pratique continue reprenait sa place et tout redevenait lisse, fluide et doux.

Cet Ango m’a permis aussi de mieux connaître et de tisser des liens forts avec Sebastian Mokusen. Nos activités en commun, les cérémonies, nos longues discussions, nos petites balades avant le  zazen du soir ont été autant de moments de partage et d’échange. L’Ango est un moment où nous pouvons aller en profondeur dans le fonctionnement et la construction du « moi » au travers de  cet « autre », par l’observation des différences, des ressemblances et dans tout ce qu’il a de profondément humain :  la conscience, les émotions, la parole qui fait sens et l’intelligence créatrice comme moyen de transformation et de changement.

Les cérémonies d’Obon furent non seulement l’occasion d’aller à la rencontre de la population et d’en comprendre le sens, mais aussi d’apprendre à vivre l’instant présent dans sa simplicité et son authenticité. Sans avoir trop répété, nous devions officier par l’ observation et la simple attention continue. L’erreur n’avait pas d’importance, seule l’harmonie entre nous comptait.

Vivre l’Ango  dépasse la notion de vivre une expérience. Après le départ de Sébastian Mokusen j’ai rencontré le « Silence » lors d’une sesshin puis en raison de ma difficulté à communiquer en anglais. Cette rencontre m’a amené peu à peu à réaliser « corporellement » et non mentalement l’illusion de mes connaissances passées et de mes certitudes du moment. Dans cette solitude et en voyant le reflet des choses, la vie apparaissait simplement maintenant.

En arrivant à Tosho ji j’ai eu l’impression d’y avoir déjà vécu. Le jour de mon départ j’avais l’impression d’y avoir toujours vécu.

Trois mois se résument en fait en un instant.

Un instant de silence dans cette « demeure paisible » !