Don / Donate / Donación
News

Taitaiko Go Gajariho – “Pure Standards for the Zen Community”

Taitaiko Go Gajariho – “Pure Standards for the Zen Community”

Taitaiko Go Gajariho – “Pure Standards for the Zen Communnity”

Byu Sebastian Mokusen Volz

Master Dogen, in an early period in Kyoto developed the essential teachings on the path and essence of Zen, emphasizing the effectiveness of Zazen in the Shobogenzo.

After this period of 16 years, he founded Eihei-ji and developed the teachings for a continuous practice appropriate for monastic life. This practice has its source in Zazen and is organized around the platform where the monks do Zazen.

During the Ango that I experienced last year, this monastic life seemed to me to be organized so that surrender to the path is complete. Since the cycle of the days is pre-established, adapted to the nature and the balance of the human being, there is no more choice to make and the mind relaxes. Life flows smoothly and the mind that does not seek gain, Mushotoku, is realised.

The fourth part of Eihei-ji’s rules concerns correct behavior when meeting experienced teachers. This experience is measured in number of Angos. Five confer the position of Atari-teacher, ten that of Osho-priest.

The sixty-two rules that are set out in the chapters are designed to establish a state of respect between the teacher and the monk, so that the learning is done verbally and non-verbally.

To reveal the meaning of this respect, here is a little story :

“An impetuous and proud Samurai entered the temple of an old monk one day. Without warning, he burst into the room where the monk was going about his business. And then he imperatively asked:

“Reveal to me the secret of paradise and hell ! ”

The old monk smiled and said to him :

“A man as stupid as you is not able to understand.”

The Samurai, outraged and dominated by anger, drew his sword and threw himself at his interlocutor. Just as the sword rose in the air to strike, the monk uttered in a powerful voice.

“This is hell “.

Impressed and stunned, the Samurai stopped immediately. Realizing the meaning of the words he had just heard, he prostrated himself. At this precise moment, the Master made this revelation to him,

“Here is paradise”.

The sixty-two rules can be summed up by the mind of this prostration in the face of revealed truth. This truth is expressed through the body of this Taitaiko who lived five or ten Angos, through his gestures, his aura and his words.

The abbot of the temple where I spent three months, spent his life practicing Angos. His eyes are brilliant, his voice very gentle, his gestures particularly fine. He always evolves silently and discreetly. He sees everyone’s mistakes. He says nothing and let the monks take responsibility, unless the mistake is repeated. A natural respect for him is established.

The rules of the temple are also established in order to dignify him : his entrance to the refectory and to Chosan, the formal tea of the morning, is made to the sound of the drum. Finally the monks only see him on the occasions that are relevant to practice such as zazen, Oryokis and Samu. He sometimes calls a monk to Tokusan for an interview. He meets Shusso and Tenzo daily and is assisted by a monk or a nun. While he seems unattainable and elevated by the rules of the temple, he shows profound simplicity and kindness when the opportunity arises to interact with him.

For us who have been educated in an egalitarian society the sixty-two rules are difficult to understand and accept. They are aimed at simple behaviors such as : « Do not look at a Taiko when leaning on something with your legs crossed » « Do not look at a Taiko with dangling arms ». As well as obviously misplaced attitudes : « Do not spit in front of a Taiko »

Beyond inappropriate behavior and words, it is essentially about creating a student-teacher relationship. «Always demonstrate a humble spirit» or « If there is a discussion, remain humble and do not try to gain a higher position”.

And it is also important to take care of the teacher : « Always observe the expression of Taiko and do not cause him disappointment or inconvenience ». Then « If a difficult task is to be done where a Taiko is, do it yourself » « If there is something nice to be done, suggest that he does it ».

Although these rules were primarily aimed at young monks, they truly create a harmonious atmosphere in the sangha and they invite Taikos to take great care of the members of the community.

Tenboring #07 – Octobre 201912As for me, when I am in the presence of my Master Mokuho, I have always felt a spontaneous respect for him and often thought that I should find the time to make Sanpai in his direction. But not knowing the rules of Master Dogen, I have often been clumsy.

The teaching of Buddhas reveals that there is no border between others and ourselves. The others are also inside us and when we raise them up, we rise with them. This unity between us and others on the one hand, and between us and our mind-body on the other hand, is called Jijuyu Zanmai by Master Dogen. Jijuyu Zanmai is a samadhi of joy from the fulfillment of oneself. This accomplishment is realized in Zazen when we become intimate with ourselves. It is also realized in the temple when we become intimate with the rules.

How to become intimate with the rules? They may not please us and may even shock us sometimes. During the Ango where we are observing the rules at every single moment, the ego reacts and tries to escape. Three indications can overcome this reaction : The first step is to have confidence that these rules are designed to free us and lead us to enlightenment.

The second step is to integrate them in harmony with those who realized them. Master Dogen calls them the « pure assembly ».

Finally, it is important to realize that these rules are like those of a game. These are codes that allow us to interact with others and with objects. As the game progresses, it becomes unconscious and it purifies our gestures, our words and our thoughts. In a game, everyone integrates rules in their own way. Thus, even if the rules are unique, they manifest themselves in very different ways through each one of us : the ego and the rules harmonize with each other, as in a dance where everyone takes his turn. Dance with the rules!

In conclusion, even if Master Dogen establishes forms for teaching to be transmitted, do not for a moment forget the profound equality of all members of the Sangha when he writes: «The brothers and sisters of the family of the Buddha should be closer to each other than to their own self. « Or explaining that “you should know that temporarily we are hosts and guests, but through our whole lives we will be nothing but Buddhas and Ancestors ». •

Don / Donate / Donación
News

Taitaiko Go Gajariho – Chapitre des « Purs Standards pour la Communauté Zen »

Taitaiko Go Gajariho – Chapitre des « Purs Standards pour la Communauté Zen »

Taitaiko Go Gajariho – Chapitre des « Purs Standards pour la Communauté Zen »

Par Sebastian Mokusen Volz

Maître Dôgen, dans une première période à Kyoto a développé les enseignements essentiels sur la voie et l’essence du Zen, insistant sur l’efficacité de Zazen dans le Shobogenzo.

Après cette étape de 16 années, il a fondé Eihei-ji et a développé les enseignements pour une pratique continue propre à la vie monastique. Cette pratique prend sa source dans Zazen et s’organise autour de l’estrade où les moines font Zazen.

Pendant l’Ango que j’ai vécu l’année dernière, cette vie monastique m’a semblé être organisée pour que l’abandon à la voie soit complet. Puisque le cycle des journées est préétabli, adapté à la nature et à l’équilibre de l’être humain, il n’y a plus de choix à faire et le mental se détend. La vie s’écoule de manière fluide et l’esprit qui ne recherche pas de gain, Mushotoku, se réalise.

La quatrième partie des règles de Eihei-ji concerne le comportement juste lorsque l’on rencontre des enseignants expérimentés. Cette expérience est mesurée en nombre d’Angos. Cinq confèrent la position d’Atari – enseignant -, dix celle d’Osho – prêtre -.

Les soixante-deux règles qui sont énoncées dans ce chapitre sont destinées à établir un lien de respect entre l’enseignant et le moine, afin que l’apprentissage se fasse de manière verbale et non-verbale.

Pour révéler le sens de ce respect, voici une petite histoire :

« Un Samourai impétueux et fier pénétra un jour dans le temple d’un vieux moine. Sans prévenir, il fit irruption dans la salle où le moine vaquait à ses occupations. Et il demanda alors impérativement:

« Révèle-moi le secret du paradis et de l’enfer !Le vieux moine esquissa un sourire et lui lança :

– Un homme aussi stupide que toi n’est pas capable de comprendre. »

Le Samurai, outré et dominé par la colère, dégaina son sabre et se jeta sur son interlocuteur. Juste au moment où le sabre s’éleva dans les airs pour frapper, le moine proféra d’une voix puissante :

« C’est cela l’enfer !

Impressionné et interloqué le Samourai stoppa net. Réalisant le sens des mots qu’il venait d’entendre, il se prosterna. A ce moment précis, le Maître lui fit cette révélation :

– Voilà le paradis ».

Les soixante-deux règles peuvent être résumées par l’esprit de cette prosternation face à la vérité révélée. Cette vérité s’exprime à travers le corps de ce Taitaiko qui a vécu cinq ou dix Angos, à travers ses gestes, son aura et ses paroles.

L’abbé du temple où j’ai passé trois mois, a passé sa vie à pratiquer les Angos. Ses yeux sont brillants, sa voix d’une grande douceur, ses gestes particulièrement fins. Il évolue toujours en silence et discrètement. Il voit les erreurs de chacun. Il ne dit rien et laisse les moines responsables intervenir, à moins que l’erreur se répète. Un respect naturel envers lui s’instaure.

Les règles du temple sont établies aussi de manière à le dignifier: son entrée au réfectoire et à Chosan, le thé formel du matin, se fait au son du tambour. Finalement les moines ne le voient que dans les occasions pertinentes des moments de la pratique : Zazen, Oryokis et Samu. Il arrive qu’il appelle un moine au Tokusan pour un entretien. Il rencontre quotidiennement le Shusso et le Tenzo et est assisté aussi d’un moine ou d’une nonne. Alors qu’il semble inaccessible et élevé par les règles du temple, il s’avère d’une profonde simplicité et d’une grande gentillesse lorsque l’occasion se présente d’interagir avec lui.

Pour nous qui avons été éduqués dans une société égalitariste, les soixante-deux règles sont difficiles à comprendre et à accepter. Elles visent autant des comportements simples comme : « Ne regardez pas un Taiko en vous appuyant sur quelque chose avec les jambes croisées » et « Ne regardez pas un Taiko avec les bras ballants », que des attitudes d’évidence déplacées : « Ne crachez pas en face d’un Taiko ».

Au-delà des comportements et des paroles inappropriées, il s’agit essentiellement de créer une relation d’élève à enseignant : « Manifestez toujours un esprit humble » ou encore « S’il y a une discussion, vous devez rester humble et ne pas essayer de gagner une position supérieure ».

Il est aussi important de prendre soin de l’enseignant : « Observez toujours l’expression du Taiko et ne lui causez pas de déception ou de désagrément. » puis « Si une tâche difficile doit être faite là où un Taiko se trouve, faite-la vous-même. S’il y a quelque chose d’agréable, offrez-lui de le faire. »

Bien que ces règles étaient essentiellement destinées aux jeunes moines, elles créent véritablement une atmosphère harmonieuse dans la sangha et elles invitent les Taikos à prendre grand soin des membres de la communauté.

Quant à moi, lorsque je suis en présence de mon Maître Mokuho, j’ai toujours ressenti un respect spontané à son égard et souvent pensé que je devrais trouver les moments pour faire Sanpai en sa direction. Mais ne connaissant pas les règles de Maître Dogen, j’ai souvent été maladroit.

L’enseignement des Bouddhas révèle qu’il n’y a pas de frontière entre les autres et nous-mêmes. Les autres sont aussi à l’intérieur de nous et lorsque nous les élevons, nous nous élevons avec eux. Cette unité entre nous et les autres d’une part, et entre nous et notre corps-esprit d’autre part, est appelée Jijuyu Zanmai par Maître Dogen. Jijuyu Zanmai est un samadhi de joie issue de l’accomplissement de soi-même. Cet accomplissement se réalise en Zazen lorsque nous devenons intimes avec nous-mêmes, il se réalise aussi dans le temple lorsque nous devenons intimes avec les règles.

Comment devenir intime avec les règles ? Elles peuvent ne pas nous plaire et même nous choquer parfois. Pendant l’Ango où nous sommes dans les règles à chaque instant, l’égo réagit et essaye d’y échapper. Trois indications permettent de dépasser cette réaction:

Le premier pas est d’avoir confiance dans le fait que ces règles sont conçues pour nous libérer et nous conduire à l’éveil.

Le second pas est de les intégrer en s’harmonisant avec ceux qui les ont réalisées, Maître Dogen les appelle « la pure assemblée ».

Enfin, il est important de réaliser que ces règles sont comme celles d’un jeu. Ce sont des codes qui nous permettent d’interagir avec les autres et avec les objets. Au fur et à mesure, ce jeu devient inconscient et il purifie nos gestes, nos paroles puis nos pensées. Dans un jeu, chacun intègre les règles à sa façon. Ainsi, même si les règles sont uniques, elles se manifestent de façons très variées au travers de chacun de nous : l’égo et les règles s’harmonisent entre eux, comme dans une danse ou chacun prend le dessus à son tour. Dansez avec les règles !

En conclusion, même si Maître Dogen instaure des formes pour que l’enseignement se transmette, il n’oublie pas un instant l’égalité profonde de tous les membres de la Sangha lorsqu’il écrit : « Les frères et les sœurs de la famille du Bouddha devraient être plus proches les unes des autres que de leur propre moi. » ou encore en expliquant que « vous devriez savoir que temporairement nous sommes hôtes et invités, mais pendant toute notre vie, nous ne serons rien d’autre que des Bouddhas et des Ancêtres »