News

Transmission for and according to Dogen by Jean Zanetsu Zuber

Transmission for and according  to Dogen by Jean Zanetsu Zuber

Transmission for and according to Dogen.

By Jean Zanetsu Zuber

At the end of this July camp there will be ordinations of nuns and bodhisattvas. During this ceremony, the teacher transmits the teaching of the Buddha, and he gives several things that symbolize and materialize this transmission: the precepts, a new name, the ketsumyaku, an act that certifies their blood line in the Dharma with the Buddha, through the master who ordains them, and a rakusu. Monks and nuns also receive a bowl and a kesa.

I would like to dwell on the transmission, such as Dôgen presents it in the Shôbôgenzô, in the Menjû chapter.

Transmission, the heart of our practice.

The event, both in time and beyond time, which is the foundation and the heart of our practice, it is the Buddha’s Awakening and the transmission of this Awakening in order to save sentient beings, to «bring the multitude of beings to the ‘other shore’. The Buddha transmits the Dharma, the Law, which is in fact the natural functioning of the Universe: an interdependent Universe, impermanent, and therefore not-self, emptiness.

This transmission can only be from one Awakened being to another Awakened being, and it is manifested in the story with the famous episode of the flower that the Buddha turns between his fingers and opens “Menju”. This chapter is a meditation on the transmission that is given and received (jü) through the face (men), in other words face to face transmission. Sitting in the midst of a million followers, the enlightened Shâkyamuni twirled a flower (…) and blinked his eye. At that moment, Mahakasyapa smiled at him (…). The awakened Shâkyamuni then said:  “I have in me the True Law, the treasure of the eye, the sublime heart of Nirvana, which I transmit to Kasyapa”.

For Dogen, this even is  “the principle of the Way according to which the true Law, Treasure of the Eye was transmitted face to face from one who is awake to one who is awake, from a patriarch to a patriarch, from generation to generation”. The Eye of the Awakened One is the true vision of things, beyond our illusions and our dualistic vision. It is the vision of the enlightened, which is beyond our human eye.

Dogen notes that this transmission has been without interruption since the seven awakened ones of the past (Shâkyamuni and the six Buddhas who precede him) to his master Tendô Nyojo, and that this transmission is none other than the “realization as the presence of the gateway of the Law, transmitted face to face from an awakened person, from a patriarch to a patriarch”.

Dôgen and Nyojo

The transmission received from Master Nyojo was for Dôgen an essential event:» First, I offered incense and I prostrated myself ceremoniously before my late master, the old Buddha Tendô [ie Nyojo] in his private apartment …). He too saw me for the first time. Then he gave me the Dharma face to face, our fingers touching each other, and said to me : « The door of the Dharma of the face to face transmission, from Buddha to Buddha, from Patriarch to Patriarch, is instantly realized. « in his eyes, this transmission is the equivalent of the flower transmitted to Kasyapa, the transmission of Bodhidharma to Eka, the 2nd Chinese patriarch, and the transmission of the fifth Chinese patriarch to Eno.

The chapter ends with the same episode, which further underlines the importance of the event. Dôgen says: ” I was able to accomplish the transmission face to face, abandoning the body and mind, and this transmission I have established in Japan”.

What Nyojo transmits to his disciple and what Dôgen will bring back to his country, is shinjin datsuraku, giving up the body and mind, and thus returning to our original Face. To live this experience means to personally experience what the Buddha knew under the Bodhi tree, during his Awakening.To realize this, the only practice is that transmitted by the Buddha: shikantaza, to sit (za) without (shikan) doing (ta) anything, without trying to reach anything (especially not enlightenment), without turning a problem around in one’s head (for example the kôan of the Rinzai School). This zen that Nyojo received and transmitted face-to-face to Dôgen, is the silent awakening of Buddha Shâkyamuni, the essential experience that is the foundation of Buddhism. This experience is that of the unity of body and mind which are no longer two-matter and spirit – but unity realized in samadhi, in concentration. Then, our true nature appears, what is called our Original Face or Buddha Nature.

At the same time, this zazen can not be an individual zazen, centered on the attachment to our Awakening. Nyojo emphasizes that if this were the case, we would miss the great compassion of the Buddhas and the Patriarchs who practice zazen only to save sentient beings. And he adds, “When Buddhas and Patriarchs sit in zazen, they form from the first day the vow to unify the entire universe. No sentient being can thus be forgotten or abandoned. Their spirit of compassion extends to the insects and the merits of their zazen are offered spontaneously and unconsciously for their salvation”.

Dogen thus starts from this essential element: « (…) with each generation, the authentic Patriarchs continued the transmission face to face, the disciple looking the master in the eyes and the teacher looking the disciple in the eyes. A Patriarch, a teacher or a disciple can not become a Buddha or a Patriarch if they have not received this transmission face to face ».

Transmission is thus giving AND receiving through the face and the eyes, an idea that is included in the word jû de jûmen. Ju, it is both giving and receiving, and in this case it is done through the face (men) and eyes, because in the transmission from master to disciple, «each one of them offers the face to the other, only face to face, and each receives the face of the other. « This explains the importance that the masters give to the exchange of glances during the ceremony of transmission or in greeting in gassho. This is the silent transmission, that of Buddha turning the flower, transmission from heart to heart (i shin den shin), beyond the Scriptures, and without intermediary, transmission which is still materialized through the “ pai” between the master and the disciple during the ordination

But this transmission remains fundamentally one: ” [This transmission] is like pouring water into the ocean and increasing its extent endlessly. It’s like transmitting the lantern and allowing it to shine forever. In the thousands of millions of transmissions, the trunk and the branches are one “.

And Dogen concludes, “From now on, the great path of the Buddhas and Patriarchs consists only in giving and receiving face to face, receiving and giving face to face; there is nothing that is too much and nothing is missing. You must understand it faithfully and joyfully, when your own face meets someone who has received the transmission face to face.”

“And this transmission continues until today” The smile that illuminates the face of Mahâkâsyapa does not stop.

Don / Donate / Donación
News

La Transmission Pour et Selon Dôgen par Jean Zanetsu Zuber

La Transmission Pour et Selon Dôgen par Jean Zanetsu Zuber

La Transmission Pour et Selon Dôgen

par Jean Zanetsu Zuber

A la fin de ce camp de juillet, il y aura des ordinations de nonne et de bodhisattva. Durant cette cérémonie, le maître transmet l’enseignement du Bouddha, et il remet plusieurs choses qui symbolisent et matérialisent cette transmission : les préceptes, un nouveau nom, le ketsumyaku, un acte qui certifie leur lien de sang dans le Dharma avec le Bouddha à travers le maître qui les ordonne, et un rakusu. Moines et nonnes reçoivent en plus un bol et un kesa.

J’aimerais m’arrêter sur la transmission, telle que Dôgen la présente dans le Shôbôgenzô, au chapitre Menjû.

La transmission, coeur de notre pratique.

L’événement, à la fois dans le temps et au-delà du temps, qui est le fondement et le cœur de notre pratique, c’est l’Eveil du Bouddha et la transmission de cet Eveil dans le but de sauver les êtres, de « faire passer la multitude des êtres sur l’autre rive ». Le Bouddha transmet le Dharma, la Loi, qui est en fait le fonctionnement naturel de l’Univers : un Univers interdépendant, impermanent, et donc non-soi, vacuité.

Cette transmission ne peut se faire que d’un Eveillé à un autre Eveillé, et elle se manifeste dans l’histoire avec l’épisode célèbre de la fleur que le Bouddha fait tourner entre ses doigts et qui ouvre « Menjû ». Ce chapitre est une méditation sur la transmission qui se donne et se reçoit (jû) à travers le visage (men), autrement dit la transmission face à face : « Assis au milieu d’un million de fidèles, l’Eveillé Shâkyamuni tritura une fleur (…) et cligna de l’Œil. A ce moment-là, l’honorable Kâçyapa lui adressa un sourire (…). L’Eveillé Shâkyamuni dit alors : « J’ai en moi la Vraie Loi, Trésor de l’Œil – le cœur sublime du Nirvâna. Je les transmets à Kâçyapa ».

Pour Dôgen, cet événement est « le principe de la Voie selon lequel la vraie Loi, Trésor de l’Œil fut transmise face à face d’un éveillé à un éveillé, d’un patriarche à un patriarche, de génération en génération. » L’Œil de l’Eveillé, c’est la vraie vision des choses, au-delà de nos illusions et de notre vision dualiste, c’est la vision de l’Eveillé, qui est au-delà de notre œil de chair.

Dôgen relève que cette transmission s’est faite sans interruption depuis les sept éveillés du passé (Shâkyamuni et les six Bouddhas qui le précèdent) jusqu’à son maître Tendô Nyojo, et que cette transmission n’est autre que la « réalisation comme présence de la porte de Loi transmise de face à face d’un éveillé, d’un patriarche à un patriarche ».

Dôgen et Nyojo

La transmission reçue de maître Nyojo fut pour Dôgen un événement essentiel : « D’abord, j’offris de l’encens et me prosternai cérémonieusement devant mon défunt maître, le vieux Bouddha Tendô [càd Nyojo] dans son appartement privé (…). Lui aussi me voyait pour la première fois. Alors, il me transmit le Dharma face à face, nos doigts se touchant, et me dit : « La porte du Dharma de la transmission face à face, de Bouddha à Bouddha, de Patriarche à Patriarche, est à l’instant réalisée. » A ses yeux, cette transmission est l’équivalent de la fleur transmise à Kâçyapa, à la transmission de Bodhidharma à Eka, le 2e patriarche chinois, et à la transmission du cinquième patriarche chinois à Enô.

Le chapitre se termine d’ailleurs sur ce même épisode, ce qui souligne encore l’importance de l’événement. Dôgen déclare : « J’ai été capable d’accomplir la transmission face à face en abandonnant le corps et l’esprit, et cette transmission je l’ai établie au Japon. »

Ce que Nyojo transmet à son disciple et ce que Dôgen va ramener dans son pays, c’est donc shinjin datsuraku, abandonner le corps et l’esprit et retrouver ainsi notre Visage originel. Vivre cette expérience signifie faire personnellement l’expérience que le Bouddha a connue sous l’arbre de la Bodhi lors de son Eveil. Pour réaliser cela, la seule pratique est donc celle transmise par le Bouddha : shikantaza, être assis (za) sans rien (shikan) faire (ta), sans chercher à atteindre quoi que ce soit (surtout pas l’Eveil), sans triturer un problème dans sa tête (par exemple les kôan de l’école Rinzai). Ce zen que Nyojo a reçu et qu’il transmet face à face à Dôgen, c’est l’Eveil silencieux du Bouddha Shâkyamuni, expérience essentielle qui fonde le bouddhisme. Cette expérience est celle de l’unité du corps et de l’esprit qui ne sont plus deux –matière et esprit– mais unité réalisée dans le samadhi, dans la concentration. Alors, notre véritable nature apparaît, ce qu’on appelle notre Visage originel ou Nature de Bouddha.

En même temps, ce zazen ne peut pas être un zazen individuel, centré sur l’attachement à notre Eveil. Nyojo souligne que si c’était le cas, il manquerait la grande compassion des Bouddhas et des Patriarches qui ne pratiquent zazen que pour sauver les êtres sensibles. Et il ajoute : « Lorsque Bouddhas et Patriarches s’assoient en zazen, ils forment dès le premier jour le vœu d’unifier l’univers entier. Aucun être sensible ne peut de ce fait être oublié ni abandonné. Leur esprit de compassion s’étend jusqu’aux insectes et les mérites de leur zazen sont offerts spontanément et inconsciemment pour leur salut. »

Dôgen part donc de cet élément essentiel : « (…) à chaque génération, les Patriarches authentiques ont continué la transmission face à face, le disciple regardant le maître dans les yeux et le maître regardant le disciple dans les yeux. Un Patriarche, un enseignant ou un disciple ne peuvent devenir un Bouddha ou un Patriarche s’ils n’ont reçu cette transmission face à face. »

La transmission est ainsi un donner ET un recevoir à travers le visage et les yeux, idée qui est comprise dans le mot jû de jûmen. Jû, c’est à la fois donner et recevoir, et dans ce cas, cela se fait à travers le visage (men) et les yeux, car dans la transmission de maître à disciple, « chacun d’eux [offre] la face à son autre, seulement face à face, et chacun reçoit la face de l’autre ». Cela explique l’importance que les maîtres accordent à l’échange de regard lors de la cérémonie de transmission, ou encore dans la salutation en gasshô. C’est là la transmission silencieuse, celle-là même de Bouddha tournant la fleur, transmission de cœur à cœur (i shin den shin), au-delà des Ecritures, et sans intermédiaire, transmission qui se matérialise encore à travers les paï entre le maître et le disciple lors de l’ordination.

Mais cette transmission reste fondamentalement une : « [Cette transmission,] c’est comme verser de l’eau dans l’océan et en accroître sans fin l’étendue. C’est comme transmettre la lampe et lui permettre de briller à jamais. Dans les milliers de millions de transmissions, le tronc et les branches ne font qu’un. »

Et Dôgen conclut : « Dorénavant, la grande Voie des Bouddhas-Patriarches consiste seulement à donner et à recevoir face à face, à recevoir et à donner face à face; il n’y a rien de trop et rien ne manque. Vous devez le comprendre avec foi et joyeusement, lorsque votre propre face rencontre quelqu’un qui a reçu la transmission face à face. »

Et cette transmission se poursuit jusqu’à aujourd’hui :

« Le sourire qui éclaire le visage de Mahâkâçyapa ne cesse pas » •