News

Tales, Legends in the Transmission of Zen by Jean Marc Kukan Delom

Tales, Legends in the Transmission of Zen by Jean Marc Kukan Delom

Tales, Legends in the Transmission of Zen by Jean Marc Kukan Delom

By Jean Marc Kukan Delom

Zen is full of stories and tales from multiple sources, reworked, told and polished over time.

Tales and stories do not speak of religion or transcendence but simply of the human being and the world. They are the living expression of Dharma. There is no morality, no absolute truth. When reading them, if we understand their meaning, the invisible becomes visible.

The common point of all Zen schools is the master-disciple relationship.

“The main role of the master is to transmit the three pillars of Zen, to settle, to go beyond the mind, to act without expecting anything (Mushotoku)”. In Zen, transmission, the master-disciple relationship becomes more important than the study of texts and sutras. We discover how the disciple penetrates emptiness through non- meaning. The me of the disciple fades away, the vision changes, starting from an egocentric functioning towards a heliocentric dynamic, then towards a non-dual vision, finally reaching the vision of the heart. Here are three examples of transmission :

The Buddha’s Flower

One day, the Buddha showed a flower to an assembly of one thousand two hundred and fifty monks and nuns. The assembly was perfectly silent and sought to understand. And then, suddenly, the monk named Mahakashyapa smiled and the Buddha smiled back at him and said, “This treasure of insight, I transmit to Mahakashyapa.”

Why did Mahakashyapa smile?

Perhaps it just shows his joy and happiness. Joy is the living expression of realization. But the Budhha also knows the limits of words. He has omniscience in omnipresence. As the senses perceive objects and construct ideas, the mind conceives thoughts. We build and manipulate ideas, but in itself, these are just ideas that lead to an activity called Karma. Reality can not be expressed as long as one thinks reality, or one speaks reality, but it must go through a direct experience.

This first transmission also invites us to open our heart. To relearn how to see, see and contemplate a flower, a tree, a stone and this other one, in its similarities and differences. And so between attachment to the pleasures of the senses and renunciation of these pleasures of the senses, to find Knowledge.

Knowledge, which is like birth. Inwardly turning, as the child turns into the interior of his mother’s womb, and being reborn in the moment to this existence, in this balance that leads to wisdom.

Returning to this simplicity of being in the moment, in this simple conscious presence, living in the spontaneity of a child, Mahakashyapa received, with a smile, the transmission of the Dharma

The first Awakening from Taiso Eka 2nd patriarch of Chan zen (Hueke)

Taiso Eka, following the instructions of the Indian monk Boddhidharma, the first zen patriarch in China, having practised zazen for a long time beside him, asked him:

Master my mind still does not find rest,

Show it to me, replied Bodhidhama and I will purify it!

I can not grasp it …

Boddhidharma exclaimed :

Then, I have purified it!

And the disciple knew his first awakening. In zen, Dokusan s the term that characterizes this exchange. Doku : going alone – San : to the one who will perfect our learning.

Thus a permanent dialogue is established through verbal exchanges or tasks to be performed, which are meant to make the disciple advance on the way (oshie) to enlightenment (satori).

Zen insists on a regular and constant confrontation.

Dokusan is not just a meeting once a year. It is the expression of a common approach that is accomplished over time, in an intimate relationship whose purpose is to get the mind out of his drowsiness, his habits, his packaging.

In this short exchange, Bodhidharma does not answer Taiso Eka’s question with a descriptive, or prescriptive word, saying what to do or not to do. His words are performative, that is, they are an act in itself, thus causing a change in the other.

Transmission of Hyakujo – 10ème patriarch of Zen, Obaku

Certain circumstances can lead to violent situations..

Hyakujo questioned Obaku after picking mushrooms.

Hyakujo asked him if he had seen a tiger. Suspecting that Hyakujo was launching a dharmic fight, Obaku uttered a loud groan.

Huakujo brandished an ax as if to hit the animal, but the disciple grabbed the master and punched him. Hyakujo burst out laughing and the same evening announced to the other monks: “There is a tiger in Mount Taiju. Beware of him, this morning he bit me.”  In pronouncing these words, he had just designated his successor in the dharma.

As it is said in the Fukanzazengi: “You must therefore abandon a practice based on intellectual understanding, running after words and keeping you to the letter “.

For the readers that we are, the methodology of this story invites us to a kind of hermeneutical experience, interpretative beyond words. Tradition becomes language without being tied down by it. The tradition becomes timeless, impersonal, universal and simply alive.

Soto Zen kept this in its method of transmission through the Hossenshiki ceremony which dedicates a shusso, as the first disciple or monk of the first row.

This ceremony does not confer a diploma, nor is it a degree of ordination. Hossenshiki literally means “Ceremony of Dharma Combat”. Through a series of questions and answers and very precise gestures, the Shusso certainly demonstrates his knowledge, but he especially updates his personal commitment to the service of the community, of all people. It’s the spirit of the big brother, the big sister. He expresses his determination, certainly by words but above all by his bodily attitude in a body-mind unity.

Hokyo Zanmai helps us to understand this ceremony. “The meaning does not lie in words, but the appropriate moment makes it appear “.

In conclusion, Zen stories and tales tell how the disciple, in this visible world which is common sense and yet not separated, must live Returns, Turns and Renunciations. For this, Zen Masters have used :

  • Silence
  • Destruction of image and beliefs.
  • Means of communication such as gestures, screams and paradoxes
  • The “public case” (koan)
  • The “beginning of a word” (huatou)
  • Poems

Like the Buddha, they taught with skilfull means or rather they were skilfull in their means. Exceeding any notion of separation, this transmission could not take place without benevolence, quite simply in the love of one.

Sangha Tenborin

Don / Donate / Donación
News

Contes, Legendes Dans la Transmission du Zen par Jean Marc Kukan Delom

Contes, Legendes Dans la Transmission du Zen par Jean Marc Kukan Delom

Contes, Legendes Dans la Transmission du Zen

Par Jean Marc Kukan Delom

Le zen est rempli d’histoires et de contes issus de sources multiples, retravaillés, racontés et polis au fil du temps.

Les contes et histoires ne parlent pas de religion ou de transcendance mais simplement de l’humain et du monde. Ils sont l’expression vivante du Dharma.

Il n’y a pas de morale, ni de vérité absolue. A leur lecture si nous en comprenons le sens, l’invisible devient visible.

Le point commun de toutes les écoles du zen est : la relation entre maître-disciple.

« Le rôle principal du maître est de transmettre les trois piliers du zen : se poser, aller au delà du mental, agir sans rien attendre (Mushotoku) ». Dans le zen, la transmission, la relation maître-disciple devient plus importante que l’étude des textes, des sutras. Nous y découvrons comment le disciple pénètre la vacuité au travers du non-sens. Le Moi du disciple s’efface, la vision change, en passant dans un premier temps d’un fonctionnement égocentrique vers une dynamique héliocentrique, puis vers une vision non duelle, enfin vers la vision du cœur. Voici trois exemples de transmission :

La Fleur du Bouddha

« Un jour, le Bouddha montra une fleur à une assemblée de mille deux cent cinquante moines et moniales. L’assemblée était parfaitement silencieuse et cherchait à comprendre. Puis, soudain, le moine du nom de Mahakashyapa se mit à sourire. Le bouddha lui rendit son sourire et dit : « Ce trésor de perspicacité, je l’ai transmis à Mahakashyapa ».

Pourquoi Mahakashyapa sourit ?

Peut-être manifeste-t-il simplement sa joie et le bonheur. Le bonheur et la joie sont l’expression vivante de la réalisation.Mais le Boudhha connaît aussi la limite des mots. Il possède l’omniscience dans cette omniprésence. En effet comme les sens perçoivent des objets et construisent des idées, le mental conçoit des pensées. On construit et manipule des idées, Mais en soi, ce ne sont que des idées qui entrainent une activité que l’on appelle le Karma. La réalité ne peut pas s’exprimer dès lors que l’on pense la réalité, dès lors que l’on dit la réalité, mais elle doit passer par une expérience directe.

Cette première transmission nous invite aussi à ouvrir notre cœur. A réapprendre à voir, voir et contempler une fleur, un arbre, une pierre et cet autre dans ses ressemblances et ses différences. Et ainsi entre attachement aux plaisirs des sens et renoncement aux plaisirs des sens, retrouver cette Connaissance. Connaissance, qui est comme la naissance.

Se retourner intérieurement, comme l’enfant se retourne à l’intérieur du ventre de sa mère, et renaître dans l’instant à nouveau à cette existence dans cet équilibre qui conduit à la sagesse.

En revenant dans cette simplicité d’être dans l’instant, dans cette simple présence consciente, en vivant dans l’hyper-présence et dans la spontanéité d’un enfant, Mahakashyapa reçut, d’un sourire la transmission du Dharma.

Le premier Eveil de Taiso Eka 2nd patriarche du Chan zen (Hueke)

Taiso Eka suivant les instructions du moine indien Boddhidharma, premier patriarche du zen en Chine, fit zazen longtemps à côté de lui, il lui demanda:

Maître mon esprit ne trouve toujours pas le repos.

Montre-le moi, répondit Bodhidhama et je le purifierais!

Je ne peux le saisir…

Boddhidharma s’écria:

Alors, je l’ai purifié !

Et le disciple connut son premier Eveil. Dans le zen, Le Dokusan est le terme qui caractérise cet échange. Doku : aller seul – San : vers celui qui va parfaire notre enseignement.

Ainsi il se met en place un dialogue permanent par des échanges verbaux ou des tâches à accomplir, censés faire progresser le disciple sur la voie (oshie), vers l’éveil (satori).

Le zen insiste sur une confrontation régulière et constante.

Le Dokusan n’est pas qu’une rencontre une fois par an. C’est l’expression d’une démarche commune qui s’accomplit au fil du temps, dans une relation intime dont le but est de sortir l’esprit de sa somnolence, de ses habitudes, de ses conditionnements.

Dans ce court échange, Bodhidharma ne répond pas à la question de Taiso Eka avec une parole descriptive, constative, ou prescriptive en disant ce qu’il faut faire ou ne pas faire. La parole est dite performative, c’est à dire elle est un acte en soi. Provoquant ainsi un changement chez l’autre.

Transmission de Hyakujo – 10ème patriarche du Zen, à Obaku

Dans certaines circonstances, les situations peuvent être violentes.

« Hyakujo interrogea Obaku après sa cueillette de champignons.

Hyakujo lui demanda s’il avait vu un tigre. Se doutant que Hyakujo lançait ainsi un combat dharmique, Obaku poussa un fort feulement.

Huakujo brandit une hache comme pour frapper l’animal, mais le disciple agrippa le maitre et lui asséna un coup de poing. Hyakujo éclata de rire et le soir même annonça aux autres moines : « Il y a un tigre dans le mont Taiju. Prenez garde à lui, ce matin il m’a mordu » En prononçant ces paroles, il venait de désigner son successeur dans le dharma. »

Comme il est dit dans le Fukanzazengi : « Vous devez en conséquence abandonner une pratique fondée sur la compréhension intellectuelle courant après les mots et vous en tenant à la lettre ».

Pour les lecteurs que nous sommes, la méthodologie de cette histoire nous invite à une sorte d’expérience herméneutique, interprétative au-delà des mots. La tradition devient langage sans se laisser enfermer par celui. La tradition devient intemporelle, impersonnelle, universelle et tout simplement vivante.

Ces échanges deviennent ainsi une véritable épreuve pour le disciple. Elles tendent à démontrer sa maturité et sa compréhension du Dharma.

Le zen sōtō a gardé cela dans sa méthode de transmission au travers la cérémonie Hossenshiki qui consacre un shusso comme premier disciple ou moine du premier rang. Cette cérémonie ne confère pas un diplôme, ni n’est un degré quelconque d’ordination. Hossenshiki veut dire littéralement : « Cérémonie du combat du Dharma ». Au travers d’une série de questions-réponses et de gestes très précis, le shusso démontre certes ses connaissances mais il actualise surtout son engagement personnel au service de la communauté, de toutes les personnes. C’est l’esprit du grand frère, de la grande sœur. Il exprime sa détermination, par la parole mais surtout par son attitude corporelle dans une unité corps-esprit.

L’Hôkyo Zanmai nous aide à comprendre cette cérémonie : « Le sens ne réside pas par les mots, mais le moment décisif le fait apparaître ».

En conclusion, les histoires et contes zen racontent comment le disciple, dans ce monde visible, qui tombe sous le sens mais est non séparé, doit vivre des Retours, des Retournements et des Renoncements. Les Maitres Zen ont utilisé pour cela :

  • Des silences
  • La destruction de l’image, des croyances.
  • Des moyens de communication tels que des gestes, des cris, des paradoxes
  • Le « cas public » (kōan)
  • Le « début d’une parole » (huatou)
  • Des poésies

Comme le Bouddha, ils ont enseigné avec des moyens habiles ou plutôt ils ont été habiles dans les moyens. Dépassant toute notion de séparation, cette transmission n’a pu avoir lieu sans la bienveillance, tout simplement dans l’amour du un.