Don / Donate / Donación
News

Toshoji : A monastic life for foreign monks and nuns – By Sebastian Volz

Toshoji : A monastic life for foreign monks and nuns – By Sebastian Volz

Toshoji : A monastic life for foreign monks and nuns – By Sebastian Volz

~ By Sebastian Volz

Shinto priests had seen for a long time, in the hollow of this amphitheatre of hills with luxuriant vegetation , a place protected from typhoons, a calm and propitious place for minds to meet. In 8th century Japan, the place was naturally chosen to shelter the first nippon buddhist temple, which survived the ages, belonging successively to Shingon Buddhism and since the 17th century , to the  school of Dogen and Keizan.

Its spread was immense, with its 1200 affiliated temples and the protection of the great clans of Mori and Tokugawa, despite their otherwise mutual enmity. It sheltered the great poet monk Ryokan and more recently, its abbot has been the most prolific composer of chanted Baika poems, the musical art of our School.

About fifteen years ago, the temple of Tosho -ji, fallen into disprepair, was taken up by Suzuki Roshi, with the aid of affiliated temples, to construct a Sodo, a place of training for monks. His time spent in America and Australia meant that monks and nuns came from many parts of the world and for some years now a number of French practitioners from the great sangha of Master  Deshimaru.

These days, the temple is inhabited by a mixed international and Japanese sangha, mostly of mature years, who follow an age appropriate monastic life, which also takes account of their differing nationalities. Many who were once disciples of Master Deshimaru have done their Ango there, many foreign monks and nuns, including some from our sangha spending a year or more.

So what does this monastic life consist of? -Together with a single body- mind, manifesting Shikantaza, chanting and playing the instruments.Offering our respect, eating, working, studying, washing, resting.

By the collective and regular rhythm of this operation, what Master Dogen called ‘the pure assembly’ is born and lives.

Don / Donate / Donación
News

Tosho-ji : Une vie monastique pour les nonnes et moines étrangers – Par Sebastian Volz

Tosho-ji : Une vie monastique pour les nonnes et moines étrangers – Par Sebastian Volz

Tosho-ji : Une vie monastique pour les nonnes et moines étrangers

~ Par Sebastian Volz

La chance unique de Tosho-ji : une vie monastique pour les nonnes et moines étrangers.

Les prêtres Shinto avaient depuis longtemps vu, dans le  creux de ce cirque de collines à la végétation  luxuriante, un lieu protégé des typhons, calme et propice à la rencontre avec les esprits. Au Japon du 8ème siècle, l’endroit fut naturellement choisi pour abriter le premier temple bouddhiste  nippon, qui traversa toutes les époques, appartenant successivement au bouddhisme Shingon et dès le 17ème siècle, à l’École de Dogen et de Keizan.

Son rayonnement était immense avec ses 1200 temples affiliés et la protection des grands clans Mori et Tokugawa, pourtant ennemis par ailleurs. Il abrita le grand moine poète Ryokan et plus récemment, son abbé fut le compositeur le plus  prolifique de poèmes chantés de Baika, l’art musical de notre École.

Il y a une quinzaine d’années environ, le temple de Tosho-ji, tombé dans l’abandon, fut repris en main par Suzuki Roshi avec  l’aide des temples affiliés pour en faire un Sodo, un lieu d’entrainement pour les moines. L’expérience américaine et australienne du Roshi ramena des moines et des nonnes de nombreux horizons, et depuis quelques années, un nombre conséquent de français de la grande sangha de Maître Deshimaru.

Le temple est donc aujourd’hui animé par une sangha mixte japonaiseet  internationale, plutôt d’âge mûr, qui suit une vie monastique adaptée à sa maturité ainsi qu’à la diversité des origines. Plusieurs anciens disciples de Maître Deshimaru y ont fait leur Ango,  plusieurs nonnes et moines étrangers, y compris de notre Sangha, y ont passé une année ou bien plus.

En quoi consiste cette vie monastique ? Ensemble d’un seul corps-esprit, réaliser Shikantaza, chanter et faire sonner les instruments, offrir notre respect, manger, travailler, étudier, se laver et se reposer. Par le rythme collectif et régulier de cette opération naît et vit ce que Maître Dôgen appelait « la pure assemblée ».