Don / Donate / Donación
News

Ango ~ Guy Mokuhô

Ango ~ Guy Mokuhô

Abiding in peace” is the translation of the word ango, describing the retreat which would bring the monks together around the Buddha or a senior person, during the rainy season. By extension,  it has become the training period that monks and nuns must follow after ordination (Tokudo) to learn the rules, ceremonies and rituals belonging to the Soto school. It is a period of time totally  dedicated to practice and in the Japanese tradition it forms part of the curriculum by means of which a monk takes charge of a temple, a function, or role as educator amongst Zen practitioners.

Completing one or many angos isn’t obligatory for us, as European zen practitioners. But it has the benefit of allowing our multiple European sanghas to co exist better together, by harmonising the exterior aspect of practice and rituals. Some believe that these angos are useless and even that they are opposed to the teachings transmitted by Master Deshimaru.

But can we really know what an experience will produce in us before we have actually done it? Beyond for and against and also beyond all forms, in an inevitable geographical, cultural and even  religious distancing, habitual landmarks, ideas, our own importance are all shoved aside without recourse in our crowding together with others, the inexorable daily grind and even from time to time, the absurdity of the way a monastery is run in Japan.

And yet, for all of those men and women who have lived through such a period, a profound inner questioning of themselves seems to happen of its own accord. In the repetitious nature of daily life, beyond the context and even the religious tradition, each one is led to overtake their own personality and to unconditionally accept everyday reality. The famous reply of Nansen Hejoshin  Koredo, ‘ordinary (daily) consciousness is the way’ becomes deeply meaningful.

Here are some thoughts and recollections by members of the Tenbôrin sangha who practised these ango in 2018 at  the temple of Toshoji in Okayama prefecture.

Guy Mokuhô

Don / Donate / Donación
News

Ango ~ Guy Mokuhô

Ango ~ Guy Mokuhô

« Demeurer dans la paix » est la traduction du mot ango désignant la retraite qui rassemblait les moines autour du Bouddha ou d’un ancien pendant la saison des pluies. Par extension c’est devenu la période de formation que doit suivre le moine ou la nonne, après son ordination (Tokudo), pour s’instruire des règles, cérémonies et rituels propres à l’école Soto. C’est donc une période de  temps entièrement dédiée à la pratique et qui fait partie dans la tradition japonaise du cursus par lequel un moine apprend à prendre en charge un temple, une fonction ou une fonction d’éducateur auprès des adeptes du zen.

Accomplir un ou plusieurs ango n’est pas une obligation pour nous, pratiquants du zen européens. Mais cela a le bienfait de permettre à nos multiples sangha européennes de pouvoir vivre mieux ensemble en harmonisant l’aspect extérieur de la pratique et des rituels. Certains soutiennent que ces ango sont inutiles et même qu’ils s’opposent à l’enseignement transmis par Maître  Deshimaru.

Mais pouvons-nous savoir vraiment ce que va produire en nous une expérience, avant de l’avoir faite ?

Au-delà du pour ou du contre, et aussi au-delà de toute forme, dans un inévitable éloignement géographique, culturel et même religieux, les repères habituels, les idées, notre propre importance sont bousculés sans appel dans la promiscuité avec les autres, l’incontournable traintrain quotidien et même parfois l’absurdité du fonctionnement monastique japonais.

Et cependant, pour toutes  celles et tous ceux qui ont vécu cette période, une profonde remise en question intérieure s’est mise en œuvre naturellement. Dans la répétition du quotidien, au-delà du contexte et même de la tradition religieuse, chacun est conduit au dépassement personnel et à l’acceptation inconditionnelle de la réalité quotidienne. La fameuse réplique de Nansen Hejôshin koredô’, « la  conscience ordinaire est le chemin », finit par prendre tout son sens.

Voici quelques témoignages de membres de la sangha Tenbôrin qui ont pratiqué ces ango en 2018 au temple de Toshoji dans la préfecture d’Okayama.

Guy Mokuhô